IEEE ETFA 2018

2018 IEEE 23rd International Conference on Emerging Technologies and Factory Automation

September 4th - 7th, 2018, Torino, Italy

Industrial Electronics Society The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Accepted Special Sessions


SS01 - Industrial Wireless Networking

Organizers:
  • Mikael Gidlund, Mid Sweden University, Sweden, mikael.gidlund@miun.se
  • Tomas Lennvall, Örebro University, Sweden, tomas.lennvall@oru.se
  • Maria Rita Palattella, uxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg, mariarita.palattella@list.eu
  • Stefano Scanzio, National Research Council of Italy (CNR-IEIIT), Torino, Italy, stefano.scanzio@ieiit.cnr.it

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
Wireless communication is very appealing for a broad range of automation applications, including industrial process monitoring and control, home and factory automation, smart (industry, environment and agriculture), building and structural monitoring and energy management. Wireless communications in the automation domain impose a number of research challenges, such as communication dependability, bandwidth management, latency issues and energy efficiency. In dynamic environments, very challenging research issues arrive when non-functional properties, such as real-time behavior and adaptability, must be enforced. We solicit technical papers describing original ideas, theory, methodology and experiences from the design, implementation and deployment of wireless networks for industrial automation.

TOPICS:


SS02 - HVAC Control Systems

Organizers:
  • Mirco Rampazzo, University of Padova, Padova, Italy, mirco.rampazzo@dei.unipd.it

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) systems are energy-intensive and, not infrequently, their inefficient operation results in poor performance and in increasing environmental impact. HVAC systems require the greatest level of knowledge to control and to maintain and they are fraught with the most problems. The efficient control of HVAC systems is a non-trivial task. From a control point of view, non-stationary plant operating conditions coupled with complex patterns of load demand and combined with the intrinsically non-linear characteristics endemic in HVAC plants, give a complex application. This Special Session is devoted to recent developments in this field, and its aim is to attract high-quality papers dealing with modelling, estimation, and control problems. The session chair invite scientists, researchers, engineers, and practitioners from the academia and the industry to contribute theoretical and applied research papers in this application field.

TOPICS:


SS03 - Machine learning for data-driven predictive maintenance in the Industry 4.0 framework

Organizers:
  • Luis Romeral Martinez, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona, Spain, luis.romeral@upc.edu
  • Roque A. Osornio Rios, Mexican Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT) / University of Queretaro, rosornio@hspdigital.com
  • Miguel Delgado Prieto, Technical University of Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona, Spain, miguel.delgado@mcia.upc.edu

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
This special session is focused on the application of machine learning methods in data-driven maintenance systems for the industrial sector. The investigation towards advanced predictive maintenance strategies is being required to enable an actual implementation of the Industry 4.0, in which the digitized industrial assets must provide now advanced industrial maintenance capabilities. In this regard, the main topics of interest of this session are the novel developments and challenges in bringing the concepts of Intelligent manufacturing, Data analytics and Industrial Internet of Things to the Predictive maintenance which is becoming a major scientific and technology trend worldwide.

TOPICS:


SS04 - Ontologies and Information Modelling

Organizers:
  • Andreas Bunte, Institute industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, andreas.bunte@hs-owl.de
  • Florian Pethig, Fraunhofer IOSB-INA, Lemgo, Germany, florian.pethig@iosb-ina.fraunhofer.de
  • Christian Diedrich, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität, Magdeburg, Germany, christian.diedrich@ovgu.de
  • Philip Sehr, Institute industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, philip.sehr@hs-owl.de

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
The demand on new and smart functions, such as self-configuration, self-optimization and self-diagnosis, in industries is continuously increasing. One important step to enable these functions is semantically annotated information with an underlying information model. Until now, there is a gap in suitable information models, not even the requirements to such models are identified properly and thus a standard is not available.
This special session’s aim is to gather all activities in the field beginning in the requirements analysis for some industry use-cases, technologies and tools to create and apply these models, developed information models or grammar which is able to deal with these models. Submissions from researchers are as welcome as submissions from practitioners.

TOPICS:


SS05 - Novel systems and architectures for networked industrial applications

Organizers:
  • Gaetano Patti, University of Catania, Catania, Italy,​ gaetano.patti@unict.it
  • Federico Tramarin, National Research Council of Italy (CNR-IEIIT), Padova, Italy, federico.tramarin@ieiit.cnr.it
  • Svetlana Girs, Mälardalen University, Västerås, Sweden,​ svetlana.girs@mdh.se

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
Recent years have seen a strong development of research on networking architectures with the definition of new concepts such as software defined and information-centric networking and network virtualization. With Industry 4.0 fostering for future factories to become smart, reconfigurable and connected, all these new networking concepts, merged with Cloud and Fog computing, are envisioned to be introduced also in industrial systems. Nevertheless, in industrial scenarios data delivery is typically subject to strict reliability and real-time constraints. This SS is hence focused on introduction of these new networking concepts and architectures into networked industrial applications, development of original protocols for their adaptation in order to fulfill timing and reliability requirements dictated by industrial applications.

TOPICS:


SS06 - Emerging Technologies, Challenges, and Solutions for Smart Environments

Organizers:
  • Dominik Henneke, Institute Industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, dominik.henneke@hs-owl.de
  • Lukasz Wisniewski, Institute Industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, lukasz.wisniewski@hs-owl.de
  • Andrzej Ozadowicz, AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland, ozadow@agh.edu.pl
  • Jakub Grela, AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland, jgrela@agh.edu.pl
  • Wolfgang Kastner, Vienna University of Technology, Vienna, Austria, k@auto.tuwien.ac.at
  • David Rua, INESC TEC, Porto, Portugal, drua@inesctec.pt

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
This session brings together industry and academia from different domains (Computer Science, Energy, and Automation) for sharing innovative ideas and concepts based on emerging technologies and solutions dedicated for smart applications and environments. Interoperability between fields, such as Smart City, Mobility, Ambient Assisted Living (AAL), Manufacturing, Grid, or Contracts, will contribute to the definition of a mature, stable and homogeneous Smart Environment. While islanded topics such as BACSs, future manufacturing systems, or modern energy distributions are already mature technologies or are advanced separately, this session allows sharing novel ideas, exploring state of the art challenges, and investigating disruptive concepts across domains. Key aspects in this approach are a common understanding and coherent use of various emerging technologies and solutions such as Cloud Computing, IoT, big data, energy efficiency, a common handling of the occurring problems such as Security, Privacy, QoS, Resilience, Reliability, or (mobile) Connectivity, and, in general, a healthy and regular cross-domain knowledge exchange.

TOPICS:


SS07 - Industrial Internet for the Factories of the Future

Organizers:
  • Marco Ehrlich, Institute Industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, marco.ehrlich@hs-owl.de
  • Lukasz Wisniewski, Institute Industrial IT / OWL University, Lemgo, Germany, lukasz.wisniewski@hs-owl.de
  • Henning Trsek, rt-solutions.de GmbH / Industrial Security, Cologne, Germany, trsek@rt-solutions.de
  • Jürgen Jasperneite, Fraunhofer IOSB-INA, Lemgo, Germany, juergen.jasperneite@iosb-ina.fraunhofer.de

Download the SS CfP

OUTLINE:
This special session is dedicated to bring together experts from various domains, such as IT, Telecommunication, and Automation, in order to elaborate on challenges in the area of industrial communication. Nowadays, several highly sophisticated technologies are implemented in factories to realize a high variety of industrial applications. These implementations are able to achieve high performances in terms of cycle times and reliability. However, this performance is typically only feasible within strictly defined technologies or vendor specific communication domains, so that the interoperability becomes a big issue. Moreover, configuration and management of these networks is solely possible using vendor specific tools. The current market situation brings new requirements towards flexibility, user-friendliness, and interoperability of the communication infrastructures. It is crucial to build industrial systems that are easy to rearrange, reconfigure, and in the same time offer high communication performance. To achieve this, innovative and high-level management concepts for heterogeneous and complex network infrastructures are needed.

TOPICS:



IEEE ETFA 2018. Copyright ©2018 IEEE. Contact the webmaster